The Allergic Writer’s Toolbox

The Allergic Writer’s Toolbox

I’ve mentioned my allergies quite a few times and how they can affect my writing but what I haven’t spoke about is what I need to do before I write so here’s a little peak into my life.

Medication

Before I even think about writing, I need to make sure my medication is within arms reach. My allergy tablets (antihistamines), inhaler, creams and nasal spray need to be close to me so if I have a reaction while I’m writing, my medication is easy to get to.

Monitor Symptoms

Something I do before writing is check for symptoms of an allergic reaction so I ask myself: am I itchy, is my nose running, am I wheezy or coughing? If the answer is no, then I take a breath and sit down to write. However, if the answer is yes, I let someone in my family know that I’m having symptoms and have to leave my door open in case it gets worse.

Clean desk/room

I’ve mentioned previously that I can’t keep my room tidy which is why I need to tidy my room every day before I write. Keeping a cluttered writing space can cause so many allergies because of the amount of dust that can be on keyboards so it’s very helpful to keep it clean.

Stay Hydrated

As someone with a lot of allergies, I can’t have a lot drink so keeping a bottle of water or getting a drink of tea before I write is very helpful. Not only because my allergy tablets make me extremely drowsy but it’s also good to stay hydrated because I can get so distracted by writing that I don’t eat and when the timer for a glass of water goes…I remember to eat.

Taking Breaks

Taking breaks is good. It helps reset the mind, especially going on walks or reading a book and for someone who’s medication makes them sleepy, it’s a good time for a nap…I’m kidding…Maybe.

I usually don’t talk about my allergies but sometimes you just need to have people see what you go through to do what you love the most, which brings me to my next point. No matter how hard life gets, don’t stop doing what you love and if you feel like giving up, don’t. I believe in you so believe in yourself and let’s reach our goals together! See you in my next post.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started